Skip to content

Certifying Organizations

Faculty Liaison

Assistant Professor of Public Law and Government


To receive the Certified Municipal Clerk (CMC), North Carolina Certified County Clerk (NCCCC), or North Carolina Certified Municipal Clerk (NCCMC) designation, participants must meet specific criteria established by International Institute of Municipal Clerks (IIMC), the NC Association of County Clerks, the Boards of County Commissioners, or the NC Association of Municipal Clerks, respectively. Completion of Certification Institute fulfills the education requirement for designation as a CMC by the IIMC as well as a major part of the requirements for designation as an NCCCC or NCCMC by the respective state clerks association. A passing score on all examinations, successful completion of all homework assignments, and fulfillment of all attendance requirements outlined in the attendance policy are required for successful completion of the Certification Institute. Other students may be enrolled at the course director’s discretion if space permits.   

Certification Requirements

IIMC Clerks’ Certification Institute 

Required Courses

Additional Information

County clerk certifications
Municipal clerk certifications